Fencing

Fencing was one of the first sports to be played in the Olympics. Based on the traditional skills of swordsmanship, the modern sport arose at the end of the 19th century. The three disciplines in modern fencing are the foil, the épée, and the sabre; winning points are made through the contact with an opponent. Competitive fencing is one of the five activities which have been featured in every modern Olympic Games.

foil

The foil is a light thrusting weapon with a maximum weight of 500 grams. The foil targets the torso, but not the arms or legs.

The foil has a small circular hand guard that serves to protect the hand from direct stabs. As the hand is not a valid target in foil, this is primarily for safety. Touches are scored only with the tip; hits with the side of the blade do not register on the electronic scoring apparatus. Touches that land outside the target area stop the action, but are not scored. Only a single touch can be awarded to either fencer at the end of a phrase. If both fencers land touches within a close enough interval of milliseconds to register two lights on the machine, the referee uses the rules of "right of way" to determine which fencer is awarded the touch, or if an off-target hit has priority over a valid hit, in which case no touch is awarded. If the referee is unable to determine which fencer has right of way, no touch is awarded.

épée

The épée is a thrusting weapon like the foil, but heavier, with a maximum total weight of 770 grams. In épée, the entire body is valid target.

The hand guard on the épée is a large circle that extends towards the pommel, effectively covering the hand, which is a valid target in épée. Like foil, all hits must be with the tip and not the sides of the blade. Hits with the side of the blade do not register on the electronic scoring apparatus (and do not halt the action). As the entire body is legal target, there is no concept of an off-target touch, except if the fencer accidentally strikes the floor, setting off the light and tone on the scoring apparatus. Unlike foil and sabre, épée does not use "right of way", and awards simultaneous touches to both fencers. However, if the score is tied in a match at the last point and a double touch is scored, the point is null and void.

sabre

The sabre is a light cutting and thrusting weapon that targets the entire body above the waist, except the weapon hand.

Saber is the newest weapon to be used. Like the foil, the maximum legal weight of a sabre is 500 grams. The hand guard on the sabre extends from hilt to the point at which the blade connects to the pommel. This guard is generally turned outwards during sport to protect the sword arm from touches. Hits with the entire blade or point are valid. As in foil, touches that land outside the target area are not scored. However, unlike foil, these off-target touches do not stop the action, and the fencing continues. In the case of both fencers landing a scoring touch, the referee determines which fencer receives the point for the action, again through the use of "right of way".

The European Championships

We will provide a great and fair environment for athletes in this important competition for their qualification for the Olympic Games 2020 and for our guests to experience fencing on the highest level with all emotions that come with it.

Venue

Timetable

The timetable will be updated as soon as the allocation of disciplines is fixed.

Day  
Saturday, June 15th

Delivery of accreditation cards, Start of weapon control

Sunday, June 16th

Delivery of accreditation cards, Weapon control

Monday, June 17th

Individual competitions: Men's foil, Women's sabre, Opening Ceremony

Congress of the European Fencing Confederation

Tuesday, June 18th

Individual competitions: Mens's epee, Women's foil

Wednesday, June 19th

Individual competitions: Women's epee, Men's sabre

Thursday, June 20th

Team competitions: Men's foil, Women's sabre

Friday, June 21st

Team competitions: Mens's epee, Women's foil

Saturday, June 22nd

Team competitions: Women's epee, Men's sabre, Closing Ceremony

Organizing committee

Members of the Board

The members of the board are responsible for the strategic decisions

Claudia Bokel

President

German Fencing Federation

Dieter Lammer

Vice President International Affairs

German Fencing Federation

Henning von Reden

Vice President Finance

German Fencing Federation

Operations Team

The operations team constists of the "chief of operations", who is in charge of the daily business of the organizing committee, and the heads of the divisions who are working with their respective teams to plan and organise the European Championships.

Philipp Gorray

Chief of Operations

Responsible for the operative management and coordination of the divisions

Stella Kluge

Head of Public Relations

Press

FIE
EFC
DFB
Bundesministerium des Innern, für Bau und Heimat
Sportland Nordrhein-Westfalen
Sportstadt Düsseldorf

DFB
Allstar Fechtsport
Uhlmann Fechtsport
Nike
Nikko Hotel
Techniker

Fechten

Fechten gehörte zu den ersten Sportarten der Olympischen Spiele der Neuzeit und ist eine der fünf Sportarten, die dann bei allen Spielen dabei waren. Auf Basis der traditionellen Fertigkeiten der Fechtkunst entstand der moderne Fechtsport gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts. Die drei Disziplinen des modernen Fechtens sind das Florett, der Degen und der Säbel; Punkte werden durch einen Kontakt der Sportwaffe mit dem Körper des Gegners gemacht.

Florett

Das Florett ist eine leichte Stoßwaffe mit einem Höchstgewicht von 500g. Trefffläche ist der Rumpf ohne Arme und Beine.

Das Florett hat einen kleinen, runden Handschutz (Glocke), die die Hand vor direkten Treffern schützt. Da die Hand nicht zur gültigen Trefffläche gehört, dient er primär der Sicherheit. Treffer zählen nur, wenn sie mit der Spitze gesetzt werden; Treffer mit der Seite der Klinge werden nicht auf der elektronischen Trefferanzeige angezeigt. Treffer, die außerhalb der gültigen Trefffläche aufkommen, unterbrechen das Gefecht, werden aber nicht gewertet. Es kann nur der Treffer eines Fechters am Ende einer Aktion gewertet werden. Treffen beide Fechter innerhalb einer kurzen Zeitspanne (wenige Millisekunden), so dass beide Lampen auf der Trefferanzeige auslösen, bestimmte der Kampfrichter nach den Regeln des Treffervorrecht, wessen Treffer gewertet wird oder, wenn der Treffer mit Vorrecht nicht auf der gültigen Trefffläche gesetzt wurde, dass kein Treffer gewertet wird. Ebenso wird kein Treffer gewertet, wenn keiner der Fechter ein Treffervorrecht hat.

Degen

Der Degen ist wie das Florett eine Stoßwaffe, jedoch mit einem Höchstgewicht von 770g schwerer. Im Degen ist der ganze Körper die gültige Trefffläche.

Der Handschutz (Glocke) des Degens ist großer Kreis, der in Richtung des Griffs vertieft ist und die Hand effektiv schützt, da im Degen die Hand ebenfalls Trefffläche ist. Wie im Florett müssen alle Treffer mit der Spitze aufkommen und nicht mit der Klingenseite. Treffer mit der Seite werden nicht angezeigt und unterbrechen auch den Kampf nicht. Da der ganze Körper gültige Trefffläche ist, gibt es keine ungültigen Treffer - ausgenommen, wenn der Fechter einen Punkt außerhalb des Gegners trifft (z.B. den Fußboden). Anders als im Florett und Säbel gibt es kein Treffervorrecht - gleichzeitig gesetzte Treffer werden für beide Fechter gewertet. Am Ende des Gefechts, wenn nur noch ein Treffer zu setzen ist, gibt es keine Doppeltreffer mehr.

Säbel

Der Säbel ist eine leichte Hieb- und Stichwaffe, bei der der ganze Körper oberhalb der Gürtellinie getroffen werden darf - ausgenommen die Waffenhand.

Wie beim Florett ist das Maximalgewicht beim Säbel 500g. Der Handschutz ist an der Außenseite um die Hand herum gezogen, um die Hand vor Hieben zu schützen. Wie im Florettfechten werden Treffer außerhalb der gültigen Trefffläche nicht gewertet. Anders als beim Florettfechten unterbrechen diese Treffer das Gefecht aber nicht. Treffen beide Fechter innerhalb einer kurzen Zeitspanne (wenige Millisekunden), so dass beide Lampen auf der Trefferanzeige auslösen, bestimmte der Kampfrichter nach den Regeln des Treffervorrecht, wessen Treffer gewertet wird

Die Europameisterschaft 2019

Die Qualifikation für die Olympischen Spiele 2020 im eigenen Land zu haben, ist für die Sportler eine super Möglichkeit, sich unter den besten Bedingungen vorzubereiten und unter diesen auch zu fechten.

Venue

Information
Tickets
Imbiss / Foodtrucks / Drinks
First Aid / Medical service
Directoire Technique
Accreditation
Weaponcheck
Callroom
Stand National delegations
Training pistes
Allstar / Uhlmann
Leon Paul
German Fencing Federation
Fencing Federation of Westphalia
Ophardtteam Sportevent
NADA
Techniker Krankenkasse - Activity Wall
Zurich Versicherung - Spendenfahrrad
Bundeswehr
Ground floor EFC Bureau / Press Lobby
1st floor LOC Office / NADA / LOC Press
1st floor VIP / Volunteers

Zeitplan

Der Zeitplan wird aktualisiert, sobald die genaue Verteilung der Disziplinen feststeht.

Tag Time  
Samstag, 15. Juni

 

Ausgabe der Akkreditierungen, Beginn der Materialkontrolle

Sonntag, 16. Juni

 

Ausgabe der Akkreditierungen, Weapon control

Montag, 17. Juni

 
09:00
13:00

17:30

18:00

Einzelwettbewerbe:
Herrenflorett
Damensäbel

Eröffnungsfeier

Finals

Kongress der European Fencing Confederation

Dienstag, 18. Juni

 
09:00
12:00

18:00

Einzelwettbewerbe:
Men's epee
Damenflorett

Finals

Mittwoch, 19. Juni

 
09:00
13:00

18:00

Einzelwettbewerbe:
Damendegen
Herrensäbel

Finals

Donnerstag, 20. Juni

 
09:00
09:00

18:00

Mannschaftswettbewerbe:
Herrenflorett
Damensäbel

Finals

Freitag, 21. Juni

 
09:00
11:00

15:45
18:00

Mannschaftswettbewerbe:
Men's epee
Damenflorett

Bronze Medal
Finals

Samstag, 22. Juni

 
09:00
09:00

16:00
18:00

Mannschaftswettbewerbe:
Damendegen
Herrensäbel

Finals Herrensäbel
Finals Damendegen
Abschlussfeier

Organisationskomitee

Mitglieder des Präsidiums

Der Vorstand ist verantwortlich für strategische Entscheidungen

Claudia Bokel

President

German Fencing Federation

Dieter Lammer

Vice President International Affairs

German Fencing Federation

Henning von Reden

Vice President Finance

German Fencing Federation

Alexander Böhm

Managing Director

Fecht-Event gGmbH

Operations-Team

The operations team constists of the "chief of operations", who is in charge of the daily business of the organizing committee, and the heads of the divisions who are working with their respective teams to plan and organise the European Championships.

Philipp Gorray

Chief of Operations

Responsible for the operative management and coordination of the divisions

Stella Kluge

Head of Public Relations

Press

FIE
EFC
DFB
Staatskanzlei Nordrhein-Westfalen
Sportstadt Düsseldorf
BMI